“The Cow in Apple Time”, a poem by Robert Frost

As I drink my cider, read my Frost, and think about earlier autumn days with my family at a particular apple orchard we used to go to, I came across this poem.  I hope it will make you smile or even laugh as it did for me.

“The Cow in Apple Time”

Something inspires the only cow of late

To make no more of a wall than open gate,

And think no more of wall-builders than fools.

Her face flecked with pomace and she drools

A cider syrup.  Having tasted fruit,

She scorns a pasture withering to the root.

She runs from tree to tree where lie and sweeten

The windfalls spiked with stubble and worm-eaten.

She leaves them bitten when she has to fly.

She bellows on a knoll against the sky.

Her udder shrivels and the milk goes dry.

– Robert Frost

Happy Apple Season!

Leave a Reply

